Reconstitution of the Policing Board

Reconstitution of the Policing Board

Established on 4th November 2001, the Policing Board’s first term of office ended on 31st March 2006, the second on 7th May 2007 and the third on 4 May 2011. The appointment nine Independent Members to the Policing Board on 1 July 2015 marked the most recent reconstitution of the Board. In June 2016, as a result of the Assembly Elections, seven new Political Members joined the Board.   

The Policing Board is made up of 19 members - 10 political  and 9  Independent.

Ten Political Members - who are all Members of the Northern Ireland Assembly - are appointed under d'Hondt principles.

How are Independent Members of the Policing Board chosen?

Following the devolution of Policing and Justice Independent Members are appointed by the Justice Minister.

Policing Board Members' allowances and terms and conditions of appointment are set by the Department of Justice.  Appointments are for a term of up to four years with the possibility of a second term.

When applying to become an independent member of the Board, candidates are requested to display an ability to develop and maintain co-operative working relationships, contribute to and commit to decisions, display an aptitude for strategic and analytical thinking and high standards of accountability.

In making appointments to the  Policing Board, Part II of Schedule 1 of the Police (Northern Ireland) Act 2000 requires the Justice Minister to exercise his powers of appointment to ensure as far as is practicable that membership of the Policing Board is representative of the community in Northern Ireland.