Board elects Chair and Vice Chair

03 July 2015

The Northern Ireland Policing Board today re-elected Anne Connolly as the Chair of the Board with the Vice Chair position being filled by Debbie Watters. The appointments take effect from today (3 July).

Resuming the role as Chair Anne Connolly said:

“I am very privileged to have been re-elected as Chair of the Policing Board. A Member of the Board for four years, during the last two as Chair I have focused on strengthening the corporate governance of the Board in its work and in its oversight of the PSNI and look forward to building on this during my tenure.

Policing continues to play a central part in our society and the Board in independently scrutinising and overseeing the police has a critical role to play in delivering accountable policing to the community.

There are of course challenges ahead, not least the financial pressures facing the police service and the legacy of the past. Despite these challenges we must ensure that we continue to build community confidence in the police and provide a consistent service across all areas.

With local government reform now in place, the PSNI Districts aligned with the new Councils and a majority of the new Policing and Community Safety Partnerships constituted, we must take opportunities to work collaboratively to resolve policing issues.

In resuming this leadership role I look forward to working with Board Members, the Chief Constable and his team and other key agencies to improve policing and community safety for everyone.

Welcoming her appointment as Vice Chair, Debbie Watters said:

“I feel delighted and honoured to have been elected to this role and will endeavour to work corporately with the Board in an independent and fair manner. There is a substantial programme of work to be undertaken and I look forward to working with the Chair and Board Members in setting priorities for the Board and building increased confidence in policing in the coming months.”

Under the Policing Board’s Standing Orders the positions of Chair and Vice Chair will be for a 2 year term.


For further information please contact the Board’s Communications Office on 07801738795

Notes to Editors

1. Biographies: click here:

2. Northern Ireland Policing Board

The Policing Board was established on 4 November 2001 by the Police(Northern Ireland) Act 2000.

3. Members of the Northern Ireland Policing Board

The Policing Board has 19 members, nine are Independent Members appointed by the Justice Minister following an open and public competition. The 10 Political Members are members of the Northern Ireland Assembly nominated by each party under the D’Hondt System in proportion to their representation in the Assembly.

Members: Deirdre Blakely, Anne Connolly, Jonathan Craig MLA, Professor Brice Dickson, Ryan Feeney, Brenda Hale MLA, Ross Hussey MLA, Dolores Kelly MLA, Gerry Kelly MLA, Trevor Lunn MLA, Roisin McGlone, David McIlveen MLA, Robin Newton MLA, Dr Paul Nolan, Wendy Osborne, Catherine Pollock, Caitríona Ruane MLA, Pat Sheehan MLA and Deborah Watters.

Notes to editors ends