Exceptional leader sought for PSNI Chief Constable position

The Northern Ireland Policing Board has today opened applications for the role of Chief Constable for the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI).

Policing Board Chair Deirdre Toner said:

"This position carries significant leadership, operational and representative responsibilities and the Board is looking for an exceptional, experienced leader for this crucial position. This role is high profile, demanding, and often fast paced.

The future Chief Constable of PSNI will require the requisite strategic thinking and ability to develop and deliver organisational and operational plans in the short, medium and longer term with the support of the Service Executive Team, and with relevant partners, agencies and stakeholders.

The future trust and confidence in policing will be influenced by the style of leadership you bring to the PSNI. Being the Chief Constable of the PSNI is regarded as one of the most fulfilling national policing leadership roles.

If you think you have the experience, commitment, and capability to lead the PSNI, I hope you will apply."

The closing date for applications is 12 noon, Monday 16 October 2023. 



For further information, please contact the Board's Communications branch.


Notes to editors

  • All information regarding the Chief Constable appointment can be found at: https://www.nipolicingboard.org.uk/chief-constable-appointment 
  • The appointment of a new Chief Constable is made by the Policing Board in accordance with Section 35 of the Police (NI) Act 2000. As a result of an NI Executive not being formed and a Justice Minister appointed, the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland introduced the Northern Ireland (Executive Formation and Exercise of Functions) Act 2018 in November 2018 which provides for senior officer appointments to be made to the PSNI.  
  • The salary for this position is in accordance with nationally agreed Chief Officers pay. This is currently £219,894 per annum (plus benefits)
  • The appointment panel will comprise: Board Chair Deirdre Toner, Joanne Bunting MLA, Gerry Kelly MLA, Nuala McAllister MLA and Mukesh Sharma

Notes to editors ends.