New Policing Board Chair and Vice Chair Elected

Vice Chair, Chief Executive, Chair standing together
Vice Chair Brendan Mullan, Chief Executive Sinead Simpson, and Chair Mukesh Sharma

Members of the Northern Ireland Policing Board have appointed Mr Mukesh Sharma DL as the new Board Chair and Mr Brendan Mullan as Board Vice Chair. 

Welcoming appointment to the role Mr Sharma said: 

“I am honoured to have been elected as Chair of the Northern Ireland Policing Board. 

I am a firm believer in the importance of the Board’s oversight role for confidence building in policing, and for making sure the best possible policing service is delivered to the community. 

Policing is a challenging job and a job that is essential for the safety of everyone in our community.  I very much respect the work of officers and staff who deliver the service to the public on our behalf.  I am committed, along with colleagues on the Board, to maintain the lobby with the Chief Constable for proper resourcing of policing so that the progress made in policing is not lost. 

As Chair, I am looking forward to meeting, listening to and engaging with all those who have a contribution to make to the Board’s work and that of policing. 

Welcoming his appointment, Mr Mullan said:

“The Board’s assurance and oversight role is fundamental to the delivery of effective and efficient policing. As Vice Chair I am very much looking forward to supporting the Chair and the Board in progressing key legislative duties and the wide programme of work.  

Under the Policing Board’s Standing Orders the positions of Chair and Vice Chair will be for a 2 year term.  


For further information please contact the Board's Communications office on 02890 408 500 or 

Notes to Editors

  1. Northern Ireland Policing Board: Details of all Board Members and biographies for the new Chair and Vice Chair can be found here: About the Board | Northern Ireland Policing Board (